BBCode executing command with parameter

Apr 28, 2013 at 11:56 AM
Hi,

I discovered ModernUI a few days ago and I must say it is really amazing, especially compared to what other similar projects have to offer.

Anyway, I have this application where I need to execute a command using a BBCode link with a parameter. So I have read this page which explains the XAML part very well: https://mui.codeplex.com/wikipage?title=Link%20navigation%20with%20BBCodeBlock&referringTitle=Documentation

I understand I am supposed to use this:
<mui:BBCodeBlock BBCode="[url=cmd://mycommand|my%20parameter]execute my command[/url]" />
... But unfortunately I'm still a little new to C# and I don't feel very comfortable with interfaces yet, I really do not know how to implement "mycommand" in my application :(

Can you please help me out with this? I've been struggling all morning to find how to do it..

Thanks in advance!
Coordinator
Apr 28, 2013 at 12:36 PM
Edited Apr 28, 2013 at 12:38 PM
There are two steps required, step 1) implement your command and step 2) register the command with the BBCodeBlock link navigator.

There are various way to implement an ICommand. One option is to implement your command as stand-alone class. Deriving from CommandBase, an abstract base implementation of ICommand, located in the FirstFloor.ModernUI.Presentation namespace.
public class MyCommand : CommandBase
{
  protected override void OnExecute(object parameter)
  {
    // TODO: implement command execution
  }
}
Or more commonly used, implement a command as part of your view model and use RelayCommand to relay command execution by invoking delegates. Both NotifyPropertyChanged and RelayCommand classes are also located in the FirstFloor.ModernUI.Presentation namespace.
public class MyViewModel : NotifyPropertyChanged
{
  public MyViewModel()
  {
    this.MyCommand = new RelayCommand(o => DoSomething(o));
  }

private void DoSomething(object o)
  {
  }

public RelayCommand MyCommand {get; private set;}
}